Maple Grove, MN Personal Injury Lawyers

Attorney Isaac Tyroler

Attorney Isaac Tyroler has been a strong advocate for injured people his entire legal career. He has a passion for righting wrongs, and he deeply cares about representing injured clients who may feel overwhelmed or uncertain about how to navigate the legal system. He is compassionate toward clients and aggressive with insurance companies and defendants. He is on the elected Board of Governors of the Minnesota Association of Justice (MAJ), the top personal injury lawyers’ group in Minnesota. And is currently the chair of MAJ’s legislative committee. [ Attorney Bio ]

Damages Injury Victims May Be Entitled To

If you’ve been injured due to someone else’s negligence, you may be entitled to damages. Damages can be both economic and non-economic. They include:

  • Medical and rehabilitation expenses (current and future)
  • Lost wages
  • Loss of future earnings
  • Pain and suffering
  • Loss of consortium
  • Emotional distress (including trauma, humiliation, and disfigurement).

In some instances, there can also be punitive damages in addition to the damages listed above. Punitive damages are awarded by a court when there is evidence of gross negligence by a defendant who knowingly or recklessly placed persons in danger or if the defendant had a history of safety violations. Punitive damages, as the name implies, are designed to punish a defendant and prevent any other would-be wrongdoers from being similarly negligent.

Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims in Minnesota

In most cases, the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim is six years in Minnesota.

The 6-year statute of limitations for Minnesota personal injury lawsuits can be found at Minnesota Statutes section 541.05. There are a few scenarios in which the “clock” on the statute of limitations might be delayed. These include:

  • If the injured person under is the age of 18, then the statute does not run until the later of 6 years or the person turns 19 years old.
  • If the injured person is legally insane, then the clock won’t start running until the period of legal disability is over (mental competence is restored). However, this filing deadline won’t be extended beyond five (5) years; and once sanity is restored, the suit must be filed within one (1) year. (Minnesota Statutes section 541.15.)

Minnesota Shared-Fault Rules

Bloomington, MN personal injury claims follow a “modified comparative negligence” rule.

Some states, including Minnesota, follow a rule known as modified comparative negligence. This means the law recognizes that in many situations, more than one person may be at fault for an accidental injury. The court or jury will determine the amount of fault that belongs to each party based on the facts in a case. As long as your share of the fault is 50% or less, you will be entitled to collect some amount of damages for your injury.

Let’s take a look at an example that illustrates this rule. Suppose you’re shopping in a grocery store and you slip and fall on a pool of water that has accumulated from the produce section. You didn’t see the water because you were busy looking at the produce. Eventually, it’s determined that you are 15% at fault for the accident, and the grocery store is 85% at fault. Let’s say the total damages for the accident are calculated to be $100,000. Under Minnesota’s comparative fault rule, 15% (the percentage of fault assigned to you) will be subtracted from that $100,000. This means you will collect 85% of the total, or $85,000.

If you have additional questions about the particular facts in your case and how fault might be determined, talk to a skilled and experienced Bloomington, MN personal injury lawyer at Tyroler Injury Law.

How Do You Prove Negligence in a Personal Injury Lawsuit?

In a personal injury lawsuit, your attorney will need to prove that the other party acted negligently when they caused the accident in which you were injured. A defendant can be a person, a business, an insurance company, a government entity, or any combination of these.

To prove negligence, your attorney will have to prove 4 elements in your lawsuit. These include:

1. Duty
The defendant owed the plaintiff a legal “duty of care” to ensure that an environment or location was safe.

2. Breach
A plaintiff must show that the defendant breached this duty by doing, or failing to do, something that a reasonable person would have done in a similar situation.

3. Causation
A plaintiff must show that the defendant’s actions, or inaction, caused the injuries to another person.

4. Damages
Damages means that there’s a monetary way of compensating a plaintiff for their injuries and property damage.

Contact Our Bloomington, MN Personal Injury Lawyers Today

If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, you may be entitled to financial compensation. This is especially true if you were injured due to someone else’s recklessness or negligence. Our skilled and experienced Bloomington, MN personal injury attorneys at Tyroler Leonard Injury Law has helped countless clients get the justice they deserve. You don’t have to endure this alone. To find out more about how we can help, call us for a free initial consultation at 651-259-1113.

Latest Blogs